Short of the Year

Since 2016 the Short Film Conference annually elects the Short of the Year, as voted by its entire membership via a simple voting procedure. The winner is traditionally announced at the end of the Short Film Conference in Clermont-Ferrand.

as of November, 2023

[1]  Any short film that  screened in an Official Program at an SFC-member-festival between October 1st 2022 and November 30th 2023 is eligible for nomination. Retrospective programs will not be taken into account.

[2] Short films that have previously been nominated  for the Short of the Year can be submitted again, if the above rule still applies to said film.

[3] There’s no restriction to genre, content and/or type of film: fiction films, documentaries, animations, experimental shorts and everything in between can be considered. However, films must be no longer than 30 minutes to be eligible for the award.

[4] Every Short Film Conference-member (as listed on our website) can enter a number of submissions/votes according to the voting round of the procedure. Each member is allowed three to five submissions in the Round 1, two votes in Round 2 and one finale vote in Round 3. Votes are always counted per organisation.

[5] The shortlist (after Round 1) will consist of 10-15 short films, of which only 3-5 shorts will be nominated (after round 2).

[6] In the first round, votes count for points: “Film #1 is worth 10 points; Film #2 = 7 points; Film #3 = 5 points; Film #4 = 3 points; Film #5 = 1 point.”

[7] When submitting films for Round 1, it’s recommended to provide us with a private screening link & password, though this is not obligatory. Provided links will only be shared within the circle of SFC-members and for this awards procedure purposes only.


Daydreaming so vivedly_poster

Daydreaming So Vividly About Our Spanish Holidays

Christian Avilés

Short of the Year 2023

✓ Berlin International Film Festival

✓ European Film Award Nomination 2023

✓ Karlovy Vari IFF

✓ POFF Shorts

& many more



Ice Merchants

João Gonzalez

Short of the Year 2022

✓ Gold Hugo – Animated Short Film Competition at Chicago International Film Festival

✓ European Film Award Nomination 2022

✓ Jury Prize – Leitz Cine Discovery Prize for Short Film Award at Semaine de la Critique 2022

& many more



Nanu Tudor

Olga Lucovnicova

Short of the Year 2021

✓ Golden Bear at Berlinale

✓ European Film Award – Best Short Film 2021

✓ Guanajuato Film Festival Award

& many more


Sun Dog_real visual

Sun Dog

Dorian Jespers

Short of the Year 2020

✓ Ammodo Award for Best Short Film (IFFR)

✓ European Film Award Nomination 2020

✓ Vienna Short Film Award

& many more




Meryam Joobeur

Short of the Year 2019

✓ Nominated for Best Live Action Short Film at the 92nd Academy Awards®

✓ Special Mention (Clermont-Ferrand International Short Film Festival)

✓ Short Cuts Award for Best Canadian Short Film (TIFF)

& many more




Jeremy Comte

Short of the Year 2018

✓ Nominated for Best Live Action Short Film at the 91st Academy Awards®

✓ Special Jury Award (Sundance)

✓ Honorable Mention Short Cuts Award for Best Canadian Short Film (TIFF)

& many more


Schermafbeelding 2018-03-27 om 21.11.21

Min Börda

Niki Lindroth von Bahr

 Short of the Year 2017

✓ Cristal for Best Short Film (Annecy)

✓ Best Animation (Clermont-Ferrand International Short Film Festival)

✓ Short Cuts Award for Best International Short Film (TIFF)

& many more




Daniel Mulloy

Short of the Year 2016

✓ BAFTA Award © Best Short Film 2017

✓ Special Jury Prize (Clermont-Ferrand International Short Film Festival)

✓ Best of Fest (Palm Springs International Festival of Short Films)

& many more